The North Bend Eagle


Candidates file for primary election

by Mary Le Arneal
Published 3/4/20

March 2 was the deadline for non-incumbents to file to run for an elected office. May 12 is Nebraska’s primary election, though not all local races will require primaries.

Locally, there are three seats open on the North Bend Central Board of Education. Incumbents running are Francis Emanuel and Bob Feurer. Jay Poessnecker is not running for re-election. Also running for school board seats are Brandon Johnson, Doug Hoops, Heidi Widick, Andy Swanson and Karrie Van Nortwick. The seven candidates will be in the May 12 primary election to narrow the field down to six candidates for the general election in November.

There are two seats on the North Bend city council up for election. Incumbents Alex Legge and Bart Bosco have filed for re-election.

Two North Bend residents have filed for a seat on the Dodge County Board of Supervisors in District 4. Dave Saalfeld is the incumbent and Pat Tawney is a challenger.

There has to be more than twice the number of candidates as contested seats to require a primary election, so there will be no primary vote for city council or District 4 county supervisor.

In Lincoln, Secretary of State Bob Evnen has set the slate of presidential candidates who will appear on the ballot for the Nebraska May 12 primary.

The candidates (in alphabetical order) are:

Republican Party: Donald J. Trump and Bill Weld.

Democratic Party: Joseph R. Biden, Michael R. Bloomberg, Pete Buttigieg, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer and Elizabeth Warren.

Libertarian Party: Max Abramson, Daniel Behrman, Lincoln Chafee, Jacob Hornberger, Jo Jorgensen, Adam Kokesh.

Nebraska law provides that the Secretary of State place candidates on the primary ballot who have been reported by the national news media as presidential candidates.

The office of Secretary of State conducted a review to determine the presidential primary list for the State of Nebraska.

“In compliance with state law, my decision is not based on winners and losers, rather, which candidates are recognized nationally as active presidential candidates,” Evnen said. He also noted that his office has conferred with the Nebraska Republican, Democratic and Libertarian parties about the candidates.

The candidates have until March 10 to file an affidavit with the Secretary of State to remove their name from ballot if they wish to do so. March 12 is the last day for partisan presidential candidates who are not listed to file for the primary via petition. By the statutory deadline of March 20 the Secretary of State will certify the statewide ballot. For more information and a list of statewide candidates, visit the Secretary of State’s website:

Running for State Legislature in District 15 is incumbent Lynn Waltz and newcomer David Rogers.
Running for U.S. Senate are incumbent Ben Sasse and Republican Matt Innis and Democrats Dennis Frank Macek, Chris Janicek, Larry Martin and Angie Philips.

Candidates for Representative in U.S. Congress for District 1, which includes Dodge and Saunders counties, are incumbent Jeff Fortenberry, Democrats Babs Ramsey, Kate Bolz and Libertarian Dennis Grace.

<<Back to the front page