The North Bend Eagle


Governor to appoint Dodge County senator

Published 11/12/14

LINCOLN – Gov. Dave Heineman is seeking qualified applicants to represent the 15th District – which encompasses Dodge County – in the Nebraska Legislature. Heineman will be working closely with Gov.-elect Pete Ricketts on this appointment.

This week’s election of State Senator Charlie Janssen of Fremont as the next State Auditor creates the vacancy beginning on Jan. 7, 2015. Auditor-elect Janssen is expected to resign his State Senate seat after the Thanksgiving holiday.

While applications will be submitted to Heineman, Ricketts will review the candidates and select the next LD 15 State Senator. At that point, Heineman will make the official appointment, based on Ricketts’ selection.

Applications will be accepted through noon central time on Wed., Nov. 26. Applicants must live within the boundaries of Legislative District 15 and must have done so for at least one year. A detailed map of the district and its boundaries is available on the Nebraska Legislature’s website: The Governor-elect may also choose to seek out additional qualified candidates.

This will be a two-year appointment. The appointee will serve until January 2017, with the seat up for election in November 2016. Due to the amount of time remaining in the current State Senator’s term, the appointee will be eligible to run for re-election once, serving up to a total of six years, if re-elected.

Individuals interested in the position may complete the online application at It can be found under the “Contact Us” tab. A cover letter, resume and additional materials may be emailed to or mailed to the Governor’s Office, at P.O. Box 94848, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509. Questions may be directed to Kathleen Dolezal with the Governor’s Office at 402-471-1971.

In addition to Auditor-elect Janssen, State Senator Scott Lautenbaugh of Legislative District 18 in Omaha has announced his resignation, and former State Senator John Nelson resigned his Legislative District 6 seat, also of Omaha, in September 2014 to become Heineman’s Lt. Governor. Appointments will not be made for these districts, as the recent elections have deemed the incoming State Senators, Brett Lindstrom (LD 18) and Joni Craighead (LD 6), who will be sworn-in on Jan. 7, 2015.

<<Back to the front page